Mailing Address: Box 526, Owosso, MI 48867

Street Address: 1997 N. M-52, Owosso, MI 48867


Subscription rates: $1.00 per year. The newsletter will be sent free to dues paying members

Publication: A minimum of four issues will be published per year.

The dues now are:

  • Individual $12.00,

  • Family $15.00,

  • Supporting $25.00,

  • Contributing $50.00,

  • Sustaining $75.00

  • Life membership $200.00

The Gazette is published three times a year with many more pages.

We are in need of new younger people to keep this Museum, Archive, and Gazette going.


This series of publications is devoted to the history Shiawassee County Schools, from 1837 to 1987. With each of the nine volumes showing the oldest schools in each township, with pictures of the pupils attending those schools. They also include lists of teachers, a short history of that township and other memorabilia of the period.

These volumes sell for $15.00 each, plus $0.90 Michigan sales tax and $3.00 shipping and handling.

They can be purchased at the SCHS office or by mail at the above address. Each is listed below by volume number.

Volume 1, Owosso Township.

Owosso Township: City of Owosso schools, Owosso Business College, School of Nursing, County Normal School, Pilgrim Holiness Seminary, Owosso Graduates of 1892 and 1904, Teachers from Owosso Township, St. Paul School, Dewey School, Union School, Burton School, Carson School, McCall School, West Branch School and Green Meadows School.

Volume 2, Caledonia and Venice Townships.

Caledonia Township: Corunna Schools, Eveleth School, Flint School, Hawkins School, Hintz School, Kelly School, Kerby School and Young School. Venice Township: Bulemore School, Church School, Forest School, Lennon School, Lytle School, Martin School, Wilkinson School and Venice Center School.

Volume 3, Hazelton and New Haven Townships.

Hazelton Township: Austin or Tin-Top School, Brown School, Cantley School, Day and Gillett School, Hazelton Center School, and Hubbel School. New Haven Township: Juddville School, Lewis School, New Lothrop School, Rhodes School, Clark School, Creek School, Easton School, German School, Hart School, Hurd School, New Haven School, Rosa School and Underwood School.

Volume 4, Middlebury and Sciota Townships.

Middlebury Township: Hammond School, Lake School, Marshall School, Mead School, Merrill School, Warren School and Middlebury School. Sciota Township: Chant School, Doyle School, Leland School, Octagon School, Sherman School, Walters School, Wert School, Blood School and Meridian School.

Volume 5, Bennington and Shiawassee Townships.

Bennington Township: Bennington No.1 School, Morton School, Gale School, Pittsburg School, German School, Bennington No.6 School, Dewey and Sherman School and Flint School. Shiawassee Township: Eddy or Kirker School, Freemont School, Haggerty School, Lemon School, Newburg School, Oak Grove School, Octoagon School, Shiawasswwtown School and Tyrell School.

Volume 6, Fairfield and Rush Townships.

Fairfield Township: Bennet School, Brainard School, Carland School, Corp School, Fox School, Sawyer School, Somers School (Saginaw County). Rush Township: Carmody School, Clark School, Goss School, Henderson School, Rush Center School, Scott School, Washburn School, Oakley School (Sagianw County), Havanna School, Walsh School ( Saginaw County), Koyne School (Saginaw County), Overpack School, Fowler School and County Normal School.

Volume 7, Burns and Vernon Townships.

Burns Township: Barnum School, Chaffee School, Cole School, Green School, Haviland School, Knaggs Bridge School, Union Plains School and Williams School. Vernon Twonship: Baird School, Chalker School, Durand School, Garrison School, Holmes School, Lovejoy School, Mikan School and White School.

Volume 8, Antrim and Perry Township.

Antrim Twonship: Ailing School, Baldwin School, Beard Fuller School, Gallagher School, Hearse School, Island or Red School, Morgan School, Bancroft School, Knaggs Bridge School, Haggerty School and Tyrell School. Perry Township: Austin School, Bush School, Clark School, Hinkley School, Lovejoy School, Morrice (Purdy) School, Perry School and Wallace School.

Volume 9, Woodhull Township, Historical records 1837 - 1962, County Rural School Teachers 1893 - 1934.

Woodhull Township: Misc. pictures, Corcoran School, Graham School, Kay School, Shaftsburg School, Sprague School, Lytle School, Octagon School, Mason School, Green School, Lemon School, Log School, County Intermediate School and Rural School Teachers 1893 - 1934.

Volume 10 "ECHOES OF YESTERYEARS" A brief history of the county.

A brief History of Shiawassee County, the naming of the Townships, Hamlets, Towns and Roads. This book is divided into 16 sections, each telling where the township got it's name, and how the roads were named. 104 pages, soft cover. Cost - $15.00 plus 6% sales tax for Michigan residents and $3.00 shipping and handling.


'Owosso Schools', Historical records of 1837-2003. Cost - $15.00 plus 6% sales tax for Michigan residents and $3.00 shipping and handling.

Combined 1859 wall map, 1875 atlas, 1895 plat book atlas and 1915 atlas of Shiawassee County, Michigan. (Indexed)

$75.00 plus tax, shipping & handling.

"OWOSSO A to Z" Written by Helen Harrelson, Owosso City Historian.

"Owosso, Michigan, A to Z" a complete account of the early days of Owosso and the people who made it such an interesting place. It tracks down some of the descendants of Ball's Colonists and other prominent builders, 592 pages and 16 pages of historic pictures, all for $40.00 plus 6% sales tax. ($45.00 if mailed)

The above books can be purchased at the Shiawassee County Historical Society.

Please make checks payable to the Shiawassee County Historical Society.